IIIT Naya Raipur

International Institute of Information Technology


Ajai Chowdhry(Chairperson)

Ajai Chowdhry is the Founder of HCL and former Chairman of HCL Infosystems Ltd. In 2011, he was awarded the Padma Bhushan for building the IT industry of the nation. Recently, he was honoured with the Cybermedia Business ICT Award 2013 for Lifetime Achievement in ICT in January 2014.

Ajai Chowdhry has a Bachelor's in Electronics and Telecommunication Engineering from Jabalpur Engineering College, and has attended the Executive Programme at the School of Business Administration, University of Michigan.

Renu G Pillay

Renu G Pillay is a member of the Indian Administrative Service (IAS). Currently, she is Principal Secretary to the Government of Chhattisgarh, in-charge of the Departments of Technical Education, Manpower Planning and Science and Technology.

She has served in several Government departments in the Centre and State as Director and Joint Secretary, Directorate of Census Operations, Ministry of Home Affairs. Ms. Pillay has a post-graduate in Sociology.

Arogyaswami Paulraj

Arogyaswami Paulraj is a Professor Emeritus at Stanford University and is a pioneer of MIMO wireless communications. He has won over a dozen awards, notably Padma Bhushan, the Marconi Prize and Fellowship 2014 and the VASVIK Medal. Prof. Paulraj is the author of over 400 research papers, two text books and a co-inventor in 59 US patents.

He received his Bachelor's degree in Electrical Engineering from the Naval College of Engineering, Lonavala and his Doctorate in Electrical Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology, New Delhi.

Dr. B. K. Gairola

Dr. B. K. Gairola was Mission Director (eGovernance), Department of Electronics & Information Technology, Government of India. Earlier, he served as Director General, National Informatics Centre (NIC), Government of India for six years. He was conferred the SKOCH ICT for India – Lifetime Achievement Award in 2010 and the Science and Technology Excellence Award 2010 by the Uttarakhand State Council for Science and Technology.

Dr. Gairola graduated with a B. Tech. in Chemical Engineering from IIT Kanpur and went on to do an M. Tech. and Ph.D. in Computer Science from IIT Kanpur.

Sujit Baksi

Sujit Baksi is an accomplished business leader with over 30 years of experience in the IT industry. A stalwart in the areas of people management, operations management and corporate strategy, Mr. Baksi is the President, Corporate Affairs and CEO of the BPO (BSG) Division at Tech Mahindra. His track record includes being President - Global Operations, Customer Services and CEO, HCL Technologies (BPO Solutions and Services).

Mr. Baksi is a graduate of Presidency College, Kolkata and holds a Master's Degree in Personnel Management from XLRI, Jamshedpur.

Prasant Kumar Mohapatra

Prasant Kumar Mohapatra is a graduate in Mechanical Engineering from REC Rourkela and Regional Executive Director (RED, Western Region -II, Raipur), NTPC Limited. His current portfolio includes overseeing two Operating Power stations namely Korba (2,600 MW), Sipat (2,980 MW) & 50 MW Rajgarh Solar and Construction management of three ongoing Green Field Projects namely Lara (2X800 MW), Gadarwara (2X800 MW), Khargone (2X660 MW) and Mandsour Solar (250 MW). The technical and managerial domain also includes Commercial aspects, Environment management and Corporate Social Responsibilities.

His multi -dimensional roles in the field of power sector ranges from designing, construction,commissioning and operation of Power plants, also in renovation and modernization of old plants. During his tenure, spanning 35+ years, in NTPC, he has worked in various capacities in different power plants spread across India. Under his leadership, NTPC's first three super critical units of 660 MW each were commissioned at Sipat in Chhattisgarh and he was extensively involved in renovation and modernization of Talcher Thermal.

Sh. Mohapatra is firmly committed to the belief that business organizations have a deep social responsibility - and that must be discharged by conducting ethical and fair business. He is an active contributor to NTPC's endeavor towards promoting education & social welfare.

Surendra Kumar Patnaik

Surendra Patnaik, currently General Manager, NTPC Ltd., Lara Super Thermal Power Project, is a graduate in Electrical Engineering. He has over 30 years experience in the establishment and commissioning of power plants of various capacities.

He has also worked as the General Manager at NTPC, Corporate Office for monitoring project execution of NTPC's power plants across India. Currently, he is heading NTPC's prestigious 2x800 MW Super Critical Power Plant being set up at Lara in Raigarh District of Chhattisgarh.

Steven A. Pinto

Steven A. Pinto is a retired Lead Director on the Chairman's Supervisory Board of the Emirates Investment Bank, UAE. He is currently serving on the Boards of ACGL, a Tata Motors subsidiary, Easyaccess Finance, a wholly-owned subsidiary of Redington India, Adlabs Entertainment Limited and CRIF High Mark. In the year 2000, he was appointed CEO of Osool Finance Company and concurrently Head of Retail Banking at Mashreq Bank, Dubai.

He is an Economics Honors graduate with a Masters in Management from the University of Mumbai.

Ajit Kumar Bhatnagar

Sh. Ajit Kumar Bhatnagar has over 35 years of experience in Infrastructure and Power sector. Post a Bachelor’s degree in Civil Engineering, he pursued his M.Tech from IIT-Delhi and MBA in Human Resource Management from IMT, Ghaziabad. He is presently heading Power Management Institute (PMI), a world class, apex training division of NTPC Ltd. in the capacity of Executive Director.

Dr. Pradeep K. Sinha(Member secretary)

Dr. Sinha is a researcher, scientist, inventor, and internationally acclaimed author of computer textbooks, with more than twenty-five years of professional experience. He has significantly contributed to the advancement of Science & Technology and Technical Education. His technical contributions include national projects, HPC systems and facilities, healthcare products and solutions, international patents, a number of technical papers and six books. Books authored by him are published and marketed by several national and international publishers. Indian, American, and other Universities across the globe cite his books as textbooks for their courses. On public demand, books authored by him have been translated in local languages like Japanese and Hindi.


IIIT–Naya Raipur Plot No. 7, Sector 24, Near Purkhoti Muktangan, Naya Raipur – 493661 Chhattisgarh

Tel:- (0771) 2474040

General Information:-  iiitnr@iiitnr.ac.in

Academic Affairs:-  registrar@iiitnr.edu.in

HR:- recruitment@iiitnr.ac.in

B.TECH Admissions:-  admission@iiitnr.ac.in

Ph.D. Admissions:-  phd_admissions@iiitnr.ac.in

Route from Raipur Railway Station to IIIT-NR:  https://goo.gl/maps/99ScvLnW9aT2

Route from Raipur Airport to IIIT-NR:  https://goo.gl/maps/B1sLfu9iRDk

Useful Services:

OLA Cabs : (0771) 3355335

Page last updated on: 25/04/17

Visitors : IIT Visitor Count

Back to Top